So tell me what you want what you really really want!

So your family sends you away and you are (somehow) supposed to know what you want to do for the rest of your life. Hmm… I think most of us can say it doesn’t workout that way. Simply because not only do you have to figure out what you want to do, you also have to think about what you’re good at! And not to mention all the millions of other questions that come with this process.

What’s important to you?

What kind of lifestyle do you want to have?

Do you like people?

Are you an introvert or extrovert?

What are your talents?

Blah. Blah. Blah.

Here’s the kicker. Ready?! Drum roll please. Ladies and gents, you don’t have to know right away!! And I am living proof. My future is something I stress about daily. If you only knew the twists and turns I’ve taken in my career path… I think you’d all laugh and feel a lot better about yourself (LOL).

Quick background story:

OKAY. To make a long story very short, I was a nursing major for three years. People, I hated it. I mean I truly hated it. I loved my patients and I met incredible people along the way but the whole picture of me being a successful nurse was quickly fading. Blood, sweat, tears & many bodily fluids later I decided there was only one thing I could turn to. The Lord. Having the stress and mental agony was something I could no longer bear. I prayed for months and I decided to take a leap of faith and switch my major. Guess what to?! You’ll never guess.. MARKETING! Yayyy, I’m pumped.

Faith is your fortress.

The Lord will provide..if  you let him. Crying won’t do much, but praying surely will. Taking this leap of faith was terrifying. I only had one more year left of school when I switched my major. All that was going through my mind was “how am I supposed to ever graduate?” But Jesus provided because I trusted in him. This summer I’ve taken 21 credits and am projected to graduate next July, only a couple of months late. Hey, I’ll take it!

Let’s face it, 85% of the time your advisor will be useless. Harsh, I know. But I can tell you what advisor won’t be. Christ. Lean on him. He already has a plan for you, it will be much easier if you decide to follow it.

Parents know a lot – but not everything.

It was H E double hockey sticks trying to get my parents on board with my switch. The last thing I wanted to do was disappoint them. I don’t know about you but the feeling of letting people down eats at me. However, you know you best. And if you’ve prayed and know what God is telling you, I promise you are making the right decision. No, my parents are still not 100% on board with me.. but I have never been more confident. That’s what matters.

You won’t realize His plan until you get through the messy parts.

Even though nursing was a rough patch for me, I learned an abundant amount. I am forever grateful for the experiences and wealth of knowledge I have absorbed. This prior major has prepared me for marketing in unexpected ways.

If you feel out-of-place and lost with your future, stop your worrying. Everything will be just fine. Take some deep breaths and know His assurance. You’re where you are for a reason. Remember..

If God brings you to it He will get you through it.

 

Hugs&Kisses, 

Chan

 

 

Leave a Reply

